2016 Fly-Ins
IMG 0941-7846The Annual Mystery Fly-in went off this year with only minor flaws, most having to do with dead batteries. A full crew showed up at the GAC to take the devilish test, followed by a fly-in to Bakersfield Muni and the Rocket Shop Café for lunch. This time everyone went directly to the correct airport in Bakersfield, breaking with tradition. The two teams whose aircraft were voltage challenged came up with a secondary drive-in destination, Brouwerij West in San Pedro, where as a consolation prize they were able to have beer with their lunch.
The winning team this year, taking home the much coveted Mystery Trophy, consisted of Steve Sappington, Nancy Schunke, Robert Sedey and Lynne Sedey.
Special thanks to the Mystery Fly-in Committee who put the test together. Robert Beckwith, James Pavlick, Joe Cogan, Dan Delane, and Mitch Taylor came up with enough hard (or just screwy) questions that no team got them all correct. Take that, Google!